Commons Code

Open access land on Gower

Commons are wonderful places to enjoy the countryside. The Countryside and Rights of Way Act (CROW) normally gives a public right of access to land mapped as ‘open country’ (mountain, moor, heath and down) or registered common land. These areas are known as ‘open access land’ and most of the Gower Peninsula is designated as such, allowing visitors to walk, climb, run, bird watch and sight see.

To get the most out of your visit please follow our 10 point Gower Commons Code and help us to protect our Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB).

The Gower Commons Code

  1. Slow down on Gower roads and be cautious of wandering livestock.
  2. Don’t feed the animals. This encourages them to the roadside and puts you and the livestock in danger. Don’t interfere with animals even if you think they are in distress.
  3. Driving on commons is illegal. Please also avoid parking in front of gates or in the bypass areas of cattle grids.
  4. Don’t disturb or remove wild plants and animals from the commons. Many common land habitats are rare and fragile.
  5. Don’t dispose of garden waste or grass cuttings on the commons. It may be poisonous to livestock and can introduce unwanted plants into our countryside. Please compost your waste at home or take it to a local recycling centre.
  6. Leave gates as you find them. Farmers may leave gates open to allow animals to move between fields and commons.
  7. Take your litter home. Report any fly-tipping to Swansea Council. If you think the waste may be hazardous, call Natural Resources Wales on 03000 653000.
  8. Always keep dogs on leads.
  9. Don’t have fires or BBQs. If you see a fire on a common dial 999 and ask for the Fire Brigade. Some fires are a controlled part of the management of commons but others may not be.
  10. Don’t camp on the commons. Camping in an AONB (protected by the CROW Act) is restricted to licensed campsites. Visit Wales has lots of information on accommodation in the area.

This voluntary code is supported by the following organisations: